Caulfield Cup Field

Want the latest news on the next edition of the Caulfield Cup? Check out our partner site for the 2014 Caulfield Cup field.

The Caulfield Cup is one of the most anticipated horse races on the Australia calendar and is looked forward to by horse racing fans and punters alike. Regarded as the toughest mile and a half handicap throughout the Spring Racing Carnival, the Caulfield Cup is pivotal in the lead up to the Melbourne Cup held only a few days later.

The Caulfield Cup field is fought over among the nation’s greatest runners, with international interest in the race growing each year. Only 18 horses make up the final field, with four emergencies waiting in the wings hoping to be called upon.

The Caulfield Cup field, which must be at least three-years-old, compete over the 2,400 metre course vying for a share in the $2.5 million purse. The winner of the prestigious race takes home $1.5 million in prizemoney and a trophy worth $100,000, with second-placed claiming $375,000 and third $200,000. Making it a highly lucrative event.

Being a handicap the Caulfield Cup has minimum weights of 49 kilograms for three-year-olds, with four-year-olds carrying a minimum of 50 kilograms.

The 2010 Caulfield Cup is scheduled to jump on October 16 so make sure to head back here at for the latest news and information and of course the Caulfield Cup field once it is released! If you’re looking for the latest info, check out our partner site for this year’s Caulfield Cup field.

2010 Caulfield Cup Field

No Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Penalty Handicapper Rating
1 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 57 118
2 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 56 116
3 MR MEDICI (IRE) Peter Ho Gerald Mosse 55 112
4 TOKAI TRICK (JPN) Kenji Nonaka Shinji Fujita 54.5 111
5 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan Steven King 54 108
6 HARRIS TWEED (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker Brad Rawiller 54 109
7 MANIGHAR (FR) Luca Cumani Damien Oliver 54 110
8 MASTER O’REILLY (NZ) Danny O’Brien Dwayne Dunn 54 107
9 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 54 108
10 TRIPLE HONOUR (NZ) Chris Waller Larry Cassidy 54 114
11 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings Ben Melham 54 110
12 ALCOPOP Jake Stephens Mark Zahra 53.5 108
13 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Glyn Schofield 53.5 2.0 110
14 ZABRASIVE (NZ) John O’Shea Craig Newitt 53 107
15 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 52.5 111
16 JESSICABEEL (NZ) John O’Shea James Winks 52.5 108
17 FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings Glen Boss 52 108
18 DARIANA Bart Cummings Luke Nolen 51.5 109
19e MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 53.5 107
20e RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent Mark Du Plessis 53.5 107
21e DRUNKEN SAILOR (IRE) Luca Cumani 53 108
22e VALDEMORO Tony Vasil Jason Maskiell (a) 50 101

Keen for a punt on Caulfield Cup Day? Learn about your betting options at