Descarado 2010 Caulfield Cup Winner

October 16th, 2010

DescaradoToday the highly anticipated 2010 Caulfield Cup ran as Race 8 at the Caulfield Racecourse, with one of Australia’s most loved trainers Gai Waterhouse claiming her first Caulfield Cup victory with Descarado.

High Chaparral four-year-old Descarado ($17) went out at great odds and was up at the front early with stablemate Herculian Prince before jockey Chris Munce let the eventual Caulfield Cup winner settle back off the pace.

Making their move on the home straight, Descarado fought hard to maintain the lead after New Zealand galloper Harris Tweed came up on the outside and threatened.

Ears back, Descarado knuckled down and got to the line first, beating Harris Tweed ($17) by a length with Monaco Consul ($21) a further two and a bit lengths away in third.

With three roughies running the 2010 Caulfield Cup Trifecta, punters that had money on the three enjoyed a big payout.

Odds-on favourite Shocking ($4.80) was not disgraced, running a solid Melbourne Cup trial finishing fourth after being caught out wide and back.

Following the 2010 Caulfield Cup Result odds for the 2010 Melbourne Cup, Race 7 at Flemington on Tuesday November 2, will be updated so head to now to get in on the action!


Luxbet, Australia’s most trusted online bookmaker, are giving our readers and Caulfield Cup viewers a massive $400 free bet bonus. This is the biggest free bet offer ever put forward from a licensed Australian bookmaker.

This offer is available for a limited time only so get in quick and get your $400 free bet bonus before the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup day.

All you need to do to get access to this offer (EXCLUSIVE to our readers) is enter the name of the winning horse from the Caulfield Cup – Race 8 today!

2010 B M W Caulfield Cup Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 15 DESCARADO(15) Chris Munce Gai Waterhouse 52.5 2-35.69
2nd 6 HARRIS TWEED(8) Brad Rawiller Murray & Bjorn Baker 54.0 1.0L
3rd 9 MONACO CONSUL(12) Craig Williams Michael Moroney 54.0 2.3L
4th 1 SHOCKING(10) Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 57.0 2.5L
5th 7 MANIGHAR(3) Damien Oliver Luca Cumani 54.0 2.9L
6th 3 MR MEDICI(13) Gerald Mosse Peter Ho 55.0 4.1L
7th 11 ZAVITE(16) Ben Melham Anthony Cummings 54.0 7.4L
8th 2 METAL BENDER(2) Hugh Bowman Chris Waller 56.0 8.1L
9th 13 HERCULIAN PRINCE(5) Glyn Schofield Gai Waterhouse 53.5 10.1L
10th 10 TRIPLE HONOUR(9) Larry Cassidy Chris Waller 54.0 10.9L
11th 12 ALCOPOP(18) Mark Zahra Jake Stephens 53.5 11.3L
12th 4 TOKAI TRICK(17) Shinji Fujita Kenji Nonaka 54.5 12.3L
13th 19 MOURAYAN(4) Nicholas Hall Robert Hickmott 53.5 13.8L
14th 20 RED RULER(1) M R du Plessis John Sargent 53.5 15.0L
15th 22 VALDEMORO(11) Jason Maskiell Tony Vasil 50.0 17.3L
16th 5 BUCCELLATI(14) Steven King Tony Noonan 54.0 18.0L
17th 17 FAINT PERFUME(6) Glen Boss Bart Cummings 52.0 19.5L
18th 18 DARIANA(7) Luke Nolen Bart Cummings 51.5 25.5L
Src 8 MASTER O’REILLY Dwayne Dunn Danny O’Brien
Src 14 ZABRASIVE Craig Newitt John O’Shea
Src 16 JESSICABEEL James Winks John O’Shea
Src 21 DRUNKEN SAILOR Luca Cumani